Angel Hierarchy: The Celestial Spheres

Just like with any large group of beings, Angels have a certain order or hierarchy. The different types of Angels are divided into different categories and have specific duties. The Angel hierarchy consists of three larger levels known as “celestial spheres”, with each sphere containing three different groups of Angels called “choirs”. These celestial spheres radiate outward with the inner circle containing the Angels closest to God while the outer levels contain the Angels closest to humans.

The first sphere contains the heavenly servants of God or his “celestial Advisers”. The choirs are as follows:

  • The Seraphim
  • The Cherubim
  • The Thrones

The second sphere contains the “celestial Governors”. They are:

  • The Dominions
  • The Virtues
  • The Powers

The third sphere contains God’s “celestial Messengers”. They are:

  • The Principalities
  • The Archangels
  • The Angels

In the following section, the duties and roles of each choir will be further explained.

Angel Hierarchy The Celestial Spheres

First Sphere, First Choir: The Seraphim

The job of the Seraphim is to guard God’s throne. They are the highest class of Angel and only they can sing Heaven’s Music. As they guard God’s throne, they sing his praises, “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory” from Isiah 6:3. In Isiah 6:1 – 8, the Seraphim are described as “fiery six-winged beings; with two wings they cover their faces, with another two they cover their feet, and the last two they use to fly.”

First Sphere, Second Choir: The Cherubim

The Cherubim are tasked with protecting God’s glory and keeping the records of what happens in the universe. They are also the Guardians of light and the stars. They are the light you feel when you feel happy, loved, or inspired. Despite their baby like appearance in modern culture, in the Bible Cherubim have a beastly appearance. They have four faces: one of a man, an ox, a lion, and an eagle. They also have four conjoined wings covered with eyes, the feet of an oxen, and the body of a lion.

First Sphere, Third Choir: The Thrones

The Thrones serve as God’s chariot and also mete out God’s judgment. They are the embodiment of God’s justice and authority. It is their duty to correct the injustices of the fallen world. God passes along messages to the Thrones who then go on to deliver these messages to humans and inferior Angels.

Second Sphere, Fourth Choir: The Dominions

It is the job of the Dominions to oversee the duties of the lower Angels. They are a type of middle management that acts as a bridge between the upper sphere and the lower. They receive their orders from the Seraphim and Cherubim and make sure the universe stays in order. They rarely make appearances to humans.

Second Sphere, Fifth Choir: The Virtues

The Virtues have several duties, which include encouraging people to strengthen their faith in God, providing miracles and signs, and maintaining the natural world God created. The Virtues often visit Earth to perform miracles. They take the orders that are given to them and convert them into miracles for those who God deems worthy.

Second Sphere, Sixth Choir: The Powers

The Powers serve as God’s warriors. Their main task is to wage spiritual warfare against demons. They fight the evil in the world and prevent them from doing as much harm as they can. They are one of the most recognizable and favored Angels amongst humans. Their job is dangerous as they are tasked with maintaining the border between Heaven and Earth. They are God’s elite guard and they must remain vigilant against demonic attacks.

Third Sphere, Seventh Choir: The Principalities

The Principalities are the rulers of the third and final sphere. They are the Angels that oversee the mortal world. They guide and protect nations, institutions like the Church, and groups of people. One of their biggest roles is as educators to humans in the arts and sciences. They provide inspiration to people’s ideas when they pray. They also provide guidance to leaders and give them advice on how best to rule their land.

Third Sphere, Eighth Choir: The Archangels

The penultimate class of Angels is not to be confused with “Archangels”, which is used to describe important of special Angels throughout the Bible. In this case, it simply means that they are above the final class of Angels. The archangels are responsible for delivering God’s messages directly to humans. One of their duties includes acting as guardians for important people like the Holy Father, Bishops, Cardinals, and Rulers of States. They are also in charge of the final class of Angels.

Third Sphere, Ninth Choir: The Angels

As the final choir, the Angels or “plain” Angels are the closest to mankind.Guardian Angels are a part of this class. Their job is to protect, guard, and pray for people. They are the Angels that are most concerned with the affairs of humans. The Angels personally deliver messages to humans. They also bring messages back from humans to God and the higher Angels.

Related Articles